Best way to Archive files, notes, settings, session and personnel

Hi All,
Since I’ve been a professional in the music production industry for so many years I’ve had to come to grips with how and what to save for posterity and my financial stability. I’d love to start a discussion with anyone who’s dealing with it and determine if there’s a few standards we can create. Or perhaps best practices.

This could be very useful for the whole industry. Consider all the work you’ve done on session files and know almost none of the work will be saved or usable. Of course you had to print stems but that’s not the full picture.

Any thoughts?

tonyM

12 Likes

Hi! What are your recommendations for audio students?

Hi Arturo,
Please clarify; with regards to Archiving or regarding mixing, engineering, production etc?
Look forward to your response
tonyM

Hi Tony, thank you for bringing this up.

Without going into my own setup, a trusted friend has the Synology NAS and Backup and this is his workflow:

I’m using Synology for storage, but I also have an external HD (LaCie Rugged) that holds my external sample libraries. Items like East West, Drum Libraries, Native Instruments, etc.
From a project perspective, I also have a “working drive” that is also an external. I work off of this, and backup to Synology at the end of every session. I can work if the Synology if I want, but I leave the Synology at home so I have that off site backup.

I’m also using Backblaze to have a cloud backup of Mac OS, and those two external drives.

The Synology Workflow goes like this:

• In Studio:
  • Create a Session on Working Drive. Do work.
  • At the end of the night I’ll back up to Synology.
  • Backblaze also gives the cloud backup as well as the macOS Backup

Remote:

• Connect to Synology Drive and sync whatever project I want to work on.
  • Bring the external sample library drive home (if the project calls for it)
  • Save > the studio is all synced